#AmWriting Ramblings; How NOT to Succeed as an Author

This has been a busy week. I’m working on the sixth draft of my upcoming book, From Turkey Creek – A Memoir, and each day I’m cutting 4-6 pages of unnecessary prose. That’s what it’s all about: Making more sense with fewer, more precise words. The tighter and more precise the writing, the easier and more entertaining the read. Besides working on “Turkey Creek,” I’ve also begun researching for my next ghost story book, which will require extensive travel and planning. Yesterday was spent thanking those who wished me a happy B-Day and V-Day, and last night I got some much-needed shuteye. On Sunday, I have a TV taping, which will last about three hours.

Meanwhile, and behind the scenes, I’ve been working on a new post for my blog. Akin to a serial article, the finished product will be a step-by-step guide for authors seeking to destroy their credibility and careers. Although a good number of newer, inexperienced authors have already swirled their egos into narcissistic tailspins and experienced the resultant, career-ending literary nosedives, I feel it’s time for a sarcastic, tongue-in-cheek discussion of the things authors should NEVER do. If it helps only one person, I will be happy. Expect it in a couple weeks.

In the interim, please read the post, below, which illustrates one example of how not to succeed as an author. It’s from Gayla at Feral Intensity:

We interrupt this series on marketing with a timely lesson on how NOT to succeed …

One comment

Comments are closed.